Eu estou aprendendo

I always enjoy my Wednesday afternoons with Ana. Today I learned about some cultural things by reading about some brazilian celebrities! That was fun…also lots of new vocabulary. I still need to memorize all of those irregular verbs — present, preterite, conditional, future, subjunctive, etc…verbs, they make my head spin. In general, I’ve found Portuguese to be a difficult language — I’m not the only one either, many brazilians have told me that half of them don’t even speak the language correctly! It’s much harder than Spanish. I actually really love the Spanish language and would love to “finish learning it” someday soon. I would love to be able to live in a Spanish speaking country and become fluent in the language. I recently read that Portuguese and French are the most difficult Romance languages followed by Italian and then Spanish. Portuguese is beautiful when it’s spoken correctly and I really am enjoying learning it, but it’s been no easy task.

It’s been another rainy day here. The rain just slowed down, but it was pouring buckets and thundering and lightening most of the evening. I don’t know, as annoying as the rain can be when trying to make plans to go out and see the sights of the city, I kind of like it. It’s nice for one, because it cools everything down and there’s nothing cozier than curling up on the couch with a cup of tea, a blanket and great book. The rainy trend should continue through the weekend, I think. Everyone is worried that this rainy November (seriously, it’s rained almost everyday this month, or at least been super grey and foggy) is going to bring a super hot January and February. They say that it never rains in November and is never this cool. They’re worried that it means it’s going to be a pretty steamy summer.

Lucas discovered my greatest fear and he’s been trying to scare me all week. I’m not too comfortable with his knowledge of so great a fear, it makes him far too powerful! Plus, one of his friends has one of these horrible things. If you know me, you will know what I’m talking about, and if you do not, well you’ll have to be left in suspense. I am so afraid and hate this thing so much that I can’t even bring myself to type the word. I just hope he understands that if were to really get one of those and scare me, I would be so shocked, scared and horrified that I would have a heart attack and die on the spot. When we were in Búzios we were walking down to the beach. It was an absolutely gorgeous beach — we parked above the beach and had to walk down a steep path down the side of a cliff to get to the beach area. Well, I saw something move in the tall grass beside me. Then, my friend Neymar, said in Portuguese, “Oh look at…” I didn’t wait to hear what “it” was. I screamed and ran, and Giselly (who is also freaked out by them) got my drift and screamed and we grabbed each other’s arms and started scrambling up the cliff. Thankfully it was just a lizard, but boy it made my heart skip a beat.

I can’t believe the Christmas season is upon us already! Here, there is no Thanksgiving to prevent (or try) the Christmas season from starting as soon as Halloween ends. Christmas decorations are already up in most public places here and I’ve been humming Christmas music all week. It’s a bit odd to me to be singing “Let It Snow,” “‘Tis The Season,” and “Winter Wonderland” all while wearing shorts, Havaianas, sipping an ice cold drink and munching on tropical fruits.

Laters!!

xoxo,

JJ

Leave a Reply

