Iglesia…Igreja…okay, got it, CHURCH!!

Last night I went to church with Cintia and Eduardo. We went to a big church close to Edir and Josefina’s house. The service was THREE hours long — 7pm to 10pm. I didn’t realize it was going to be so long or I would have eaten beforehand. I was so hot and hungry I thought I might pass out in the sanctuary. They had a visiting pastor preaching last night. I’m not completely sure where he’s from, but he spoke Spanish. They had a translator up there with him. It was cool, because I got two chances to try and understand what was being said. If I didn’t get it in Spanish I would just wait for the portuguese translation. I understood most of what was said, but it took so much brain power! I was surprised to see that it was easier for me to understand the Portuguese than the Spanish. I could understand a lot of the Spanish, but I am so used to hearing Portuguese now that it was weird to Dios instead of Deus and to actually hear “r’s” and then “muy bien,” instead of “muito bom,” little things like that…I actually started getting a little confused later when I was speaking! The man sitting next to me in church was so annoying. He spoke Spanish and Portuguese and was highly critical of the woman translating the sermon. He kept leaning over to me telling me that she should have used a different word and blah blah blah, it got on my nerves. Then he later he kept on elbowing me and rolling his eyes. It was cool to hear Spanish again. It made think of all of those Spanish poems Señora Mosher made us memorize…”Escribame una carta Señor Cura…” Haha, that was one of my favorites!

JJ

Leave a Reply

