Mr & Mrs

This is the Lord’s doing; it is marvelous in our eyes.

–Psalm 118:23

I’ve known Rachel since I was 10 years old. We’ve been through a lot together. One year of elementary school, middle school, high school, college and beyond. We’ve been through a ton of phases too; sewing, baking (both of those were pretty unsuccessful), writing letters with quill and ink, S-Club 7, dress up, trying to start a moving company, well yeah, we had a lot of weird phases. I have so many sweet memories that include Rachel and her dear familia.

I remember being 14 and making fake wedding invitations for each other. And then there was the journal that we started with magazine clippings and color combinations that we swore we would use one day for our weddings. It’s funny to see how some things change so drastically and then again how some things just stay the same. It makes me laugh. I remember praying for Brad. Well, not Brad specifically, but for the man God was preparing for Rachel.

Rachel has been such a sweet blessing to me since we met all those years ago. I thank God for her. We’ve laughed, we’ve cried and we’ve experienced all those other in-between emotions together. She’s a faithful friend. I appreciate her witty humor and her honesty. When I’ve felt like William Cowper, she’s been my John Newton. She cares for my soul so much that she isn’t afraid to call me out. I’ve loved growing with her and it’s a pleasure to see God’s grace working in her life.

I remember one night when she made me “friend” Brad on facebook so that she could look at his pictures…haha how far we’ve come since then! No, but really, I am thankful to God for bringing Brad and Rachel together. I know that they are both better together than apart. I love the way that they light up when the other enters the room. I am thankful for the way Brad loves Rachel — the way he serves her and takes care of her. I was honored to be a part of their wedding day.

Leave a Reply

