New Directions

You never quite know what’s going to hit you, do you? The beautiful thing about that is that God does and his sovereign care is infinitely wiser than anything my human hands could ever construct. Sunday night I became very sick again, so sick that I was hospitalized through Wednesday afternoon. The doctors here really don’t know what is wrong with me, but they were able to get me stable, which is a huge blessing and I really am thankful for their care. However, it has been decided that I really need to see an American doctor and get some tests done and receive proper treatment, whatever that may be, before I am ready to return to work. So, I’m flying back to the states tomorrow afternoon. I really do think this is the best decision right now, especially considering that I’ve been sick twice in two and a half weeks. It’ll be good to see a doctor at home and recover and then hopefully get back as soon as possible. I am very sad to say goodbye to Liberia after such a short time. It’s much harder to say goodbye, even for a short period of time, than I thought it would be. I’ve only been here about a month, but I’ve really grown to love it here. I am so excited about the work that I was going to be a part of and the staff here are just awesome and it’s been a pleasure to get to know them and it’s been so wonderful to get to know the Liberian people and culture. Please pray that God would make it clear to my doctors in the states the best course of treatment and that I would heal quickly and regain my strength so that I can come back to Liberia and finish my work soon. You can also pray for safe, uneventful travel. At this point, I’m stable and doing much better than earlier in the week, but as far as traveling goes, I’m super weak and have very low energy. Thankfully, Danielle, Janet and Ted are all on my flight and will be there if I need anything. Ted is going all the way back to Boone, so he’ll be there in Atlanta to help me get through customs and find our connecting flight. God is so good in the way that he provides for his children! I will leave you with these verses from Psalm 34 – they were of great comfort to me while I was in the hospital.
“I sought the Lord, and he answered me and delivered me from all my fears. Those who look to him are radiant and their faces shall never be ashamed.” Psalm 34:4-5

One response

  1. Jamie,
    I am so sorry you have been so sick! We will be praying for safe, uneventful travel, and healing. Love you so much! The Faulks

Leave a Reply

